Portraits of a Soul

I just returned from The Journey retreat.  For those of you who don’t know, I am on staff with The Leadership Institute, along with my husband, Alan.  The Journey is a 2-year, 6-retreat process to which Christian leaders commit.  It is a process of spiritual formation and leadership development.  That is the short version explanation.  It’s really so much more than that…worship…sharing lives…listening to God… training…prayer…laughing…eating …hiking…talking…processing…you get the idea.

So this last week, I had this idea.  I would take pictures of the women with which I meet.  But not just portraits.  I wanted to capture something about the women, something about where they are at with God, or just a prayer request in visual form.  What you will see in the pics are women who are small in the corner, with the grandeur of God’s creation taking up most of the frame.  That seemed to be the theme.  He is great and we are small…small in the way that makes you realize you are not in control and you don’t have to run the world every day.  Small in a way that makes space for His Grace.  Enjoy!

IMG_6277

IMG_6188

IMG_6238

I have to comment on this shot because it is not a landscape like all of the others. This is KW. She has a very unique creativity when it comes to connecting people with God. I wanted to capture her next to the "Crafts Building" to represent her creativity. She knows how to strike a pose!

I have to comment on this shot because it is not a landscape like all of the others. This is KW. She has a very unique creativity when it comes to connecting people with God. I wanted to capture her next to the "Crafts Building" to represent her creativity. She knows how to strike a pose!

IMG_6245

IMG_6381(1)

Leave a comment